Dumb Information

Confessions of a Bus Driver: Panhandlers

There’s a town south of here that has banned panhandlers…

BRAVO!!!…

I tip my hat to the law makers of that town. I wish the lawmakers of my city had the cajones!!!… Ya can’t sling a dead cat without hittin at least one. They’re everywhere, at the street corners, freeway entrances & exits, even in front of the liquor store. Of course, that makes sense. They don’t have far to go to get that bottle of Thunderbird…

People, Get a clue!!! You’re not helping them out… You’re just supporting their habits!!!

I live near “Freeattle”. It used to be named after a famous Indian chief, but they changed the name because all the “homeless” people that stay here. When I say homeless, I mean bums, drunks & dregs… And few of them are actually from here.

A while back, a reporter was doing an article on one of the “tent cities” around. She interviewed several “tenants”. Not one person was from here!!! Why is that, you might ask. Certainly, not because all natives are the hard-working, salt-of-the-earth type. There are good people here, but there are a lot of enablers.

Freeattle is known nationwide as a city where you can move here, with no job, nor any desire to get one, and the people will feed & clothe you & find you a place to stay.

Now I understand that people get down on their luck. I have no problem whatsoever helping someone help themselves. I do have a problem with people, with their hand out, saying,”gimme, gimme, you owe me!!” Hussein’s idea of “share the wealth” is nothing new. Bum’s have been expectin’ that for years!!

I got a bum on my bus the other day that just walked by the fare box. Of course, I told him to pay the fare or take the “shoe leather express.” He belly-ached & finally threw 50 cents in the fare box.

Now, BusCo is another enabler. If you ask, they will give you a discount card so you don’t have to pay the full fare. And they will not back drivers in fare disputes!!!!!

Anyway, I ask this waste of good oxygen if he has a discount card. He replies that he left it back at the tent, but he’s disabled.

Here’s a news flash for ya slick!! Bein a bum is not a disability, it’s a character flaw!! I let him ride for about 3 blocks before I booted his sorry ass off for harassin the other passengers.

There’s a reason they don’t let bus drivers carry guns… Within a week, we’d all be in jail, planning our strategy to show justifiable homicide…

I have a relative that, back in the day, used to play this game with his buddies called “BOWLING FOR BUMS”. They would drive down the road & if they saw a panhandler, they would speed up to 35 or 40 mph, roll down the window, toss out a can of pork’n’beans & try to “connect” with the panhandler. I don’t know why it never made the game show circuit.

Well, gotta go. I’m waitin for my Hussein Obama collector’s plate to come in. Got my Hussein calendar, complete with balloon captions, for my birthday… Next, I’ll get the Hussein inauguration video for $19.95.

Am I like the only one that thinks the presidency is for sale??

-Ralph

Leave a Reply

